New Semester


So I haven’t posted in quite awhile, only because my thesis was taking all my time, and I had to get it done by the end of July and then I had the Native American Journalists(NAJA) Conference, and then all of the sudden it was the beginning of the new semester and here we are. First of all , I finally finished my thesis, and was so glad it was over! I really was having a breakdown trying to finish corrections and linking certain communication articles with it, mostly cuz I never realized how scientific communication was, but I think I got it down. Anyways, we must have went through 7 drafts in 3 days before I finally submitted my thesis electronically and then I had to drive all the way to the Standing Rock Reservation in North Dakota because my plane flight was out of Bismarck in two days. I drove all night and made it to the rez at 4 a.m.  I was so glad to be set free of my ball and chain (the thesis) and i never felt so relieved. I was on a flight to Albuquerque the next day and as soon as I got off the plane I was wisked away to Sandia golf course where we were holding a golf tournament for our NAJA scholarships. Since I am the Vice President and a past recipient of a scholarship they asked me to say a few words of how important it was to support the scholarships and how it helps us succeed. When I got there, all the emotions of finally finishing my thesis caught up with me, as they were told that I officially graduated with the Masters Degree in Journalism, and I talked about how my degree will help other natives become involved in media, or communications in some way or the other, and how three of my students were in Albuquerque working in the college projects.  I think just realizing, I finally have my degree, and I did it all on my own, made me feel so independant and powerful..lol, sounds funny, but I was never so proud of my accomplishments until then.  I met some of the golfers and then we went off to the Hyatt to get the conference started that evening. I don’t have to say how important this conference was, the 25th anniversary of NAJA and everything went great! My panels were full, and the attendance was wonderful.  After the conference, I went back to N.D. and got to spend time with my family without worrying about my thesis, and just hang out! We stayed until school started for my daughter and we had to leave back to Kansas, we made the trip in one day, which was good! Haskell started, and I have two classes, as Adjuncts are only allowed 6 hours this year, so hopefully something is gonna change next semester.  My students seem really motivated, and I am glad! other than that, that is what has been going on. I just wanted to add what has been goin on!

2 Responses to “New Semester”

  1. Solar Panel Says:

    Hi, good read. I just found your website and I am already a fan. =D

  2. Tony Brown Says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a Reply

